Vodafone Ghana Music Awards 2019 | Full list of winners

by Staff

The 20th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards, VGMA, was held on the night of Saturday 18th of May, 2019 and winners were also congratulated from various categories.

The biggest names in Ghanaian music gathered at the Accra International Conference Centre, where several artists and producers would receive honors for the work done within the past year.

There was much captivating performances from the likes of Kwesi Arthur, Kuami Eugene, Medikal, Samini, Sarkodie, Nigeria Afro sensation Burna Boy, and more.

However, the arena was overwhelmed with commotion when Shatta Wale and crew stormed the stage during Stonebwoy‘s acceptance speech for Reggae/Dancehall Artist of the Year, where Stonebwoy unleashed a pistol.

The show was stopped briefly, but once the dust settled it continued with a performance by Samini, and the rest of the program for the night. Two awards were withheld – Artist of the Year, and Most Popular Song of the Year,  due to the altercation but VGMA officials revealed that they will be announced at a later date.

Burna Boy took home the award for African Artist of the Year, and his mom gave an inspiring acceptance speech on his behalf.

See list of Vodafone Ghana Music Awards 2019 winners below.

Below is the full list of announced winners.

Traditional Artiste of the Year – Kwan Pa

Instrumentalist of the Year – Mizter Okyere

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Mrs. Mary Ghansah, Obuoba J.A. Adofo, Prof Kofi Abraham

Unsung Artiste of the Year – Kula

Gospel Song of the Year – Diana Hamilton – Mo Ne Yo

Highlife Song of the Year – Shatta Wale – My Level

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year – Shatta Wale – Gringo

Hip-Hop Song of the Year – Kwesi Arthur – Anthem

Hiplife Song of the Year – Yaa Pono ft. Stonebwoy – Obiaa Wone Master

Afropop Song of the Year – Guilty Beatz ft. Mr Eazi, Pappy Kojo and Patapaa – Akwaaba

Gospel Artiste of the Year – Diana Hamilton

Highlife Artiste of the Year – Kuami Eugene

Hiplife/Hiphop Artiste of the Year – Medikal

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year – Stonebwoy

Music Video of the Year – MzVee ft. Yemi Alade – Come and See My Moda

Best Collaboration of the Year – Stonebwoy ft. Medikal, Kwesi Arthur, Darko Vibes & Kelvyn Boy – Kpoo Keke

Record of the Year – Akwaboah – Hye Me Bo

Songwriter of the Year – King Promise for King Promise ft. Mugeez & Sarkodie – CCTV

Producer of the Year – Kuami Eugene

Best Male Vocalist – Kidi – Thunder

Best Female Vocalist – Efya – Hold You Down

Sound Engineer of the Year – Francis Osei for Akwaboah – Sh3 Me Bo

African Artiste of the Year – Burna Boy

Rapper of the Year – Medikal

Best African Collaboration – Guilty Beatz ft. Mr Eazi, Patapaa & Pappy Kojo – Akwaaba

Best Group of the Year – Bethel Revival Choir

Best New Artiste – Wendy Shay

Album of the Year – Rockstar by Kuami Eugene

Artiste of the Decade – Sarkodie

Check Also

Leave a comment